TRWD receives 2017 John Ivey Higher Standards Award

By October 5, 2017
TRWD Award

In September, TRWD board member Leah King accepted the 2017 John Ivey Higher Standards Award on behalf of TRWD. The award honored the district’s efforts to address flood damage reduction with the Trinity River Common Vision and Corridor Development Certificate program.

The program won the award for its successful long-term cooperative efforts to address flood damage reduction by establishing and enforcing higher standards for development along the Trinity River corridor.

The Trinity River Common Vision program is a partnership that dates back to the mid-1980’s. The program has the main goal of stabilizing flood risk along the Trinity River Corridor, while allowing development to continue without reducing flood storage capacity.

TRWD is a member of this program along with the cities of Arlington, Carrolton, Coppell, Dallas, Farmers Branch, Fort Worth, Grand Prairie, Irving, and Lewisville; the counties of Dallas, Denton and Tarrant; Trinity River Authority; Federal Emergency Management Agency Region 6; Texas Water Development Board; The North Central Texas Council of Governments; and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

Lake Current Level Conservation Level* Level Difference**
Arlington 549.88 550.00 -0.12
Benbrook 693.57 694.00 -0.43
Bridgeport 821.20 836.00 -14.80
Cedar Creek 322.00 322.00 0.00
Eagle Mountain 644.79 649.10 -4.31
Lake Worth 590.99 594.00 -3.01
Richland-Chambers 315.50 315.00 0.50
*Conservation Level: The permitted level of water an entity is allowed to hold in a lake. Any amount above the conservation level is used for the temporary storage of flood waters and must be released downstream.
**Difference: Amount above or below conservation level.
For more information read our daily reports or the TRWD Lake Level Blog.

Check out the TRWD OneRain portal for a visualization of this information and more.

Stay connected with TRWD!

Sign up for our newsletter!

Newsletter Sign Up